HANCEVILLE, ALA. – Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recently welcomed new members during its annual spring semester ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa is the college’s honor society, and Wallace State students are eligible for consideration if they maintain a 3.5 GPA for 12 or more credit hours the previous semester. Wallace State’s Alpha Chi Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa is a 5-star achiever, the highest mark among the organization.

Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa conducts a spring and fall semester ceremony each year.

New Wallace State inductees to the honor society are:

Addison: Emarie Herald

Albertville: Sonya Juan, Maria Ramirez, Somer Saint

Altoona: Sumerlyn Humphrey, Ethan McDerment

Arab: Madison Camp, Anna Garrett, Riley-Grace Jordan, Bryan Vanegas

Athens: Hayley Patterson

Attalla: Hannah Busha, Caleb Hudson

Baileyton: Hunter McKelvy

Bessemer: Ashley Levert

Blountsville: Grace Battles, Chloe Cruz, Courtney Kramer, Lakshmi Tummalapalli

Boaz: Kailee Upchurch

Carrollton: Joseph Hedrick

Chelsea: Kinsley Gardner

Cleveland: Hannah Armstrong, Rosalinda Castillo, Lindsay Fountain

Crane Hill: Lani Current, Chasilyn Morrow, Erika Persons

Cullman: Isabella Allred, Caleb Barnette, Kaitlyn Bassett, Isaiah Bell, Shane Brewer, Danielle Collins, Marigrace Dunn, Dylan Finch, Kirsten Graveman, Caroline Grimes, Stacy Holt, Sam Johnston, Kate Kent, Summer Laymaster, Andrew Morton, Chloe Ray, Madison Roberts, Te’a Seely, Andrew Shaw, Christian Smith, Nolan Warner, Jacob White, Preston White, Eli Wilhite, Madalyn Williams

Danville: Elizabeth Anderton, Autumn Byrum

Dawson: Matthew Malone

Decatur: Zachary Johnson, Kele Nelson

Empire: Aimee Carroll

Eva: Henslee Brindley, Faulyn Childs, Haley Earwood

Falkville: Kaitlin Harding, Jordan Hinkle

Fultondale: Stacey Marcus, Kristyn McPherson, Rebecca Richards

Gardendale: Beth Morris

Geraldine: Karlee Hale

Guntersville: Austin Salinas, Katie Wood

Haleyville: Stephanie Acevedo

Harvest: Lauren Church

Hayden: Hannah Aycock, Sarrah Aycock, Logan Chappell, Madilyn Chappell, Kimberly Frazier, Madison Houston, Heaven Randolph, Kiera Thrasher, William Thrasher

Hanceville: Bayleigh Arnold, Brandon Danecker, Jonathan Kornegay, Mackenzie Ledbetter, Sydney McDougal, Kasey Murphree, Matthew Ridden, Alisa Teague, Beth Veigl, Haley Wilbanks

Hartselle: Makayla Henderson, Anna Mathis, Nicholas Prater, Paxon Preuitt, Sydnie Ricks, Joshlyn Rowland,

Hernando, Miss.: Kaitlyn Doyle

Holly Pond: Logan Chambers, Anna-Marie Kusz

Hoover: Alex Leary

Horton: Ashley Smith, Lindsey Stewart

Huntsville: Anna Katherine Eads, Karen Valadez

Jasper: Janie Akins, Angekya Kellum, Allison Luke

Joppa: Anthony Camp

Kimberly: Connor Bruce, Avery Dunn

Laceys Spring: Hannah Craddock

Leeds: Misty Campbell

Locust Fork: Jayleigh Tawbush

Logan: Tiffany Treece

Madison: Jordan McMeans, Jessica Mouser

Mount Olive: Garrison Clements

Morris: Makayla Pharris

Muscle Shoals: Lauren Leeds

New Hope: Lorianne Fite

Newton: Jordan Hollis

Northport: Macy Montgomery, Makala Worrell

Oneonta: Yessica Chacon, Andrew Elrod, Alyssa Gilland, Samantha Mendez, Katie Montgomery, Tatiana Sims

Owens Cross Roads: Ashlynn Owen

Parrish: Haley Pettit

Pinson: Destiny Wallace

Rainsville: Consuela Holkem

Russellville: Rachel Harris

Somerville: Morgan Childers

Union Grove: Hannah Phillips

Vinemont: Jennifer Brooks, Meredith Calvert, Emily Dyer, Deven Jenkins, Aaron Perry, Kinlee Puckett, Samuel Roberts, Jake Wood

Warrior: Brandy Borden, Emily Cleveland, Jessica Fetner, Danielle Mydland, Troy Yeager

Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are math instructors Brandon Smith and Stacey Sivley.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,285 chapters on two year and community college campuses in all 50 states and in Canada, Germany, Peru and other select republics or territories. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Wallace State President Dr. Vicki Karolewics will be recognized with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction by the national Phi Theta Kappa organization  during PTK Catalyst 2019, the Society’s annual convention, April 4-6 in Orlando, Florida.

The Wallace State induction was held in conduction withPhi Theta Kappa Awareness Week. For more information on the organization, visit https://www.ptk.org/Default.aspx?TabID=3848

For more information about Wallace State, visitwww.wallacestate.edu.

Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society recently welcomed its spring inductees.

Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society recently welcomed its spring inductees.


Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society recently welcomed its spring inductees.

Wallace State’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society recently welcomed its spring inductees.



Russell Moore

Wallace State Community College

Creative and Content Services Coordinator, Communications and Marketing

Speech Adjunct Instructor


256.352.8443 | office

256.339.2422 | mobile



Click here to submit a Marketing request.




Kristen Holmes

Assistant to the President for External and Cultural Affairs

Communications | Marketing | Museum | International | Government Affairs


256.352.8118 | office

256.339.2519 | mobile


Twitter • Facebook • Instagram • LinkedIn